Sleep Disorders

Sleep is one of the basic needs of humans - just like eating and drinking. Healthy sleep is an essential foundation of our physical and mental performance.

More and more people suffer from sleep disorders. Often sufferers complain of insomnia, poor sleep quality, daytime fatigue, daytime sleepiness, microsleep, tension, irritability, headache, fatigue or depression.

Illustratives Bild

Occupational and private stress, grief, depression, snoring with and without respiratory failure, increased urination, cough, pain, muscle cramps or restless legs - there are many possible causes of non-recreational sleep.

Chronic sleep disorders affect well-being, health and quality of life. They are a risk factor for high blood pressure, heart disease, cardiac arrhythmia, stroke, diabetes mellitus, depression and dementia, but also for personal and other hazards due to work and traffic accidents.

Digital Sleep Medicine

Sleep medical care in Germany has long ceased to be in line with the international status of research and development in the field of digital medicine. We are far from exploiting the medical and economic benefits of digitization for comprehensive, high-quality and internationally competitive sleep medical care.

Illustratives Bild

At the Institute of Digital Sleep Medicine, every patient with sleep disorders and non-recreational sleep can benefit from better diagnoses and more advanced treatments based on my expertise in sleep medicine, digitization and telemedicine. Further advantages include shorter waiting times, telemedical (location-independent) accessibility and digital doctor-patient communication.

As a research-based sleep specialist and engineer, I have been making an internationally recognized contribution to the development of innovative digital prevention, diagnosis and therapy procedures for people with sleep disorders for many years. These digital technologies improve the outcome of treatment and simplify the processes for patients and medical professionals. Furthermore they optimize doctor-patient communication, which is essential for the treatment process.

The treatment of sleep disorders at the Institute of Digital Sleep Medicine takes place in three steps:

  1. Diagnostics
  2. Treatment
  3. Follow-up management

Diagnostics

The more precise the diagnosis of the sleep disorder, the better the success of the treatment. The nature and extent of the necessary examinations and the digital techniques used will be individually agreed in a personal conversation between doctor and patient.

The typical procedure of diagnostics is as follows:

  • Appointment
  • Doctor-Patient-Consultation
    • telemedical, in video consultation or
    • personally on site, at the Institute for Digital Medicine
  • Evaluation of all preliminary findings
  • Sleep-specific questionnaires for self-assessment

    • digitally, on a computer or smartphone or
    • analog on paper
  • Vigilance / drowsiness tests
  • Digital monitoring

  • Complementary diagnostics
  • Discussion of findings and treatment planning

    • telemedical, in video consultation or
    • personally on site, at the Institute of Digital Sleep Medicine

Treatment

The results of sleep diagnostics, the professional expertise of the sleep specialist and the treatment team as well as the use of the latest treatment strategies allow us to define a treatment plan that is as individual, flexible and precise as possible.

To offer patients the full range of medically researched and established therapies at the highest level, we are networked nationally and internationally with sleep medical experts from other branches of medicine (Respiratory Medicine, ENT, Neurology, Psychiatry, etc).

Specific treatment methods:

  • Sleep hygiene
  • Lifestyle change, fitness
  • Nocturnal positive airway pressure (PAP)
    PAP mode:
    • CPAP: “Continuous PAP”
    • APAP: “Automatic PAP”
    • ASV: “Adaptive Servo-Ventilation”
  • Mandibular Repositioning Devices
  • Airway Stimulation (Hypoglossus Pacemaker)
  • Long-term oxygen therapy
  • Drugs
  • Interdisciplinary methods

Follow-up Management

Follow-up examinations are an essential part of successful sleep medical treatment. This is real team work: the role of the patient is not just the center of attention. He is also an important player in the treatment team. The benefit of follow-ups is particularly significant when the patient and all providers and physicians involved in the treatment work and communicate as active members of the team.

Many problems can already be identified during medical consultation and suitable solutions can be initiated. But not every persistent or new sleep disorder and not every treatment problem can be clarified by simple questioning and patient examination. With the help of digital medicine, also complex conditions can be detected quickly and accurately and often resolved with only little effort.

In addition, the necessary cooperation between the patient and all physicians and service providers involved in the treatment process is significantly improved. At the Institute for Digital Sleep Medicine, flexible follow-up scheduling is the rule. The ideal follow-up interval depends on the current symptoms and findings of the digital and telemedical monitoring. The following methods are available:

  ↑   TOP

Schlafstörungen

Der Schlaf gehört zu den Grundbedürfnissen des Menschen – genau wie Essen und Trinken. Gesunder Schlaf ist eine essentielle Grundlage unserer körperlichen und geistigen Leistungsfähigkeit.

Immer mehr Menschen leiden unter Schlafstörungen. Oft klagen die Betroffenen über Ein- und Durchschlafstörungen, schlechte Schlafqualität, Tagesmüdigkeit, Tagesschläfrigkeit, Sekundenschlaf, Anspannung, Gereiztheit, Kopfschmerzen, Erschöpfung oder Depression.

Illustratives Bild

Beruflicher und privater Stress, Trauer, Depression, Schnarchen mit und ohne Atemaussetzer, vermehrtes Wasserlassen, Husten, Schmerzen, Muskelkrämpfe oder unruhige Beine – die Ursachen von nicht erholsamem Schlaf sind vielfältig.

Chronische Schlafstörungen beeinträchtigen das Wohlbefinden, die Gesundheit und Lebensqualität. Sie sind ein Risikofaktor für Bluthochdruck, Herzerkrankungen, Herzrhythmusstörungen, Schlaganfall, Diabetes mellitus, Depression und Demenz, aber auch für Eigen- und Fremdgefährdung durch Arbeits- und Verkehrsunfälle.

Digitale Schlafmedizin

Die schlafmedizinische Versorgung in Deutschland entspricht schon lange nicht mehr dem internationalen Stand der Forschung und Entwicklung im Bereich der digitalen Medizin. Wir schöpfen den medizinischen und wirtschaftlichen Nutzen der Digitalisierung für eine flächendeckende, qualitativ hochwertige und international konkurrenzfähige schlafmedizinische Versorgung bei weitem nicht aus.

Illustratives Bild

Am Institut für Digitale Schlafmedizin kann jeder Patient mit Schlafstörungen und nicht erholsamem Schlaf von besseren Diagnosen und fortschrittlicheren Behandlungen profitieren, die auf fachlicher Kompetenz in Schlafmedizin, Digitalisierung und Telemedizin beruhen. Weitere Vorteile sind kürzere Wartezeiten, telemedizinische (ortsunabhägige) Erreichbarkeit und digitale Arzt-Patient-Kommunikation.

Als forschender Schlafmediziner und Ingenieur leiste ich seit Jahren einen international anerkannten Beitrag zur Entwicklung innovativer digitaler Präventions-, Diagnose- und Therapieverfahren für Menschen mit Schlafstörungen. Diese digitalen Technologien verbessern den Behandlungserfolg, vereinfachen die Abläufe für Patienten und behandelndes Personal und optimieren die Kommunikation zwischen Arzt und Patient, die unverrückbar im Mittelpunkt des Behandlungsprozesses steht.

Die Behandlung von Schlafstörungen am Institut für Digitale Schlafmedizin erfolgt in drei Schritten:

  1. Diagnostik
  2. Therapie
  3. Verlaufsmanagement

Diagnostik

Je präziser die Diagnostik der Schlafstörung, umso besser der Behandlungserfolg. Art und Umfang der notwendigen Untersuchungen und der zum Einsatz kommenden digitalen Techniken werden im persönlichen Gespräch zwischen Arzt und Patient individuell vereinbart.

Der typische Ablauf der Diagnostik stellt sich wie folgt dar:

  • Terminvereinbarung
  • Arzt-Patient-Gespräch
    • telemedizinisch, in der Videosprechstunden oder
    • persönlich vor Ort, im Institut für digitale Medizin
  • Bewertung aller Vorbefunde
  • Schlafspezifische Fragebögen zur Selbstbeurteilung

    • digital, am Computer oder Smartphone oder
    • analog auf Papier
  • Vigilanz-/Schläfrigkeitstests
  • Digitales Monitoring

  • Ergänzende Diagnostik
  • Besprechung von Befunden und Therapieplanung

    • telemedizinisch, in der Videosprechstunde oder
    • persönlich vor Ort, im Institut für Digitale Schlafmedizin

Therapie

Die Ergebnisse der schlafmedizinischen Diagnostik, die fachliche Expertise von Schlafmediziner und Behandlungsteam sowie der Einsatz der neuesten Behandlungsstrategien ermöglichen die Festlegung eines Behandlungsplans, der so individuell, flexibel und präzise wie möglich gestaltet wird.

Um den Patienten die gesamte Bandbreite der schulmedizinisch erforschten und etablierten Therapien auf höchstem Niveau anbieten zu können, sind wir mit schlafmedizinischen Experten aus anderen Sparten der Medizin (Pneumologie, HNO, Neurologie, Psychiatrie usw.) national und international vernetzt.

Spezifische Behandlungsmethoden:

  • Schlafhygiene
  • Lebensstiländerung, Fitness
  • Nächtliche Überdruckatmung („positive airway pressure“, PAP)
    PAP-Modus:
    • CPAP: „Continuous PAP“
    • APAP: „Automatischer PAP“
    • ASV: „Adaptive Servo-Ventilation“
  • Unterkiefer-Protrusionsschienen
  • Atemwegsstimulation (Hypoglossus-Schrittmacher)
  • Sauerstoff-Langzeittherapie
  • Medikamente
  • Interdisziplinäre Methoden

Verlaufsmanagement

Nachfolgeuntersuchungen sind ein essentieller Bestandteil der erfolgreichen schlafmedizinischen Behandlung. Dabei handelt es sich um Teamarbeit – der Patient ist nicht nur Mittelpunkt, sondern ist selbst ein wichtiges Mitglied des Behandlungsteams. Der Nutzen von Verlaufsuntersuchungen ist dann besonders groß, wenn sich der Patient und alle an der Behandlung beteiligten Versorger und Ärzte als aktive Mitglieder dieses Teams verstehen und kommunizieren.

Bereits im ärztlichen Gespräch lassen sich viele Probleme erkennen und geeignete Lösungen finden. Aber nicht jede persistierende oder neue Schlafstörung und nicht jedes Behandlungsproblem lässt sich durch die einfache Befragung und Untersuchung des Patienten klären. Mithilfe der digitalen Medizin werden komplexe Probleme rasch und präzise erkannt und oft mit geringem Aufwand gelöst.

Daneben wird die notwendige Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Patienten und allen am Behandlungsprozess beteiligten Ärzten und Leistungserbringern wesentlich verbessert. Am Institut für Digitale Schlafmedizin sind flexibel terminierte Verlaufskontrollen die Regel. Das optimale Intervall hängt ab von den aktuellen Beschwerden und Befunden des digitalen und telemedizinischen Monitorings. Dabei stehen folgende Methoden zur Verfügung:

  • Video-Sprechstunde mit zertifizierter Software
  • Soft- und Hardware aus eigener Entwicklung
  • Schlafprofil: Apps von SleepScore Labs
  • Telemanagement für die qualitativ hochwertige PAP-Therapie:
  • Neueste Entwicklungen für die häusliche Schlafdiagnostik
  ↑   TOP